AUSVEG Convention a Winner

Updated: 07/06/2010

The 2010 AUSVEG National Convention has been hailed as a great success.

The convention brought together growers, researchers and supply-chain representatives from across the Australian Vegetable, Potato, Organic, Hydroponic and Asian vegetable industries.

AUSVEG Chairman and Mayor of Scenic Rim Regional Council in Queensland, John Brent, congratulated the award winners and said he was thrilled with the success of the event, held at Conrad Jupiters Hotel Casino on the Queensland Gold Coast.

VGA delegates enjoy AUSVEG conferenceVGA delegates David Favero, Silvio Favero, Tom Schreurs and Tony Imeson

With almost 600 delegates attending the Convention I’m so proud of the dedication and passion shown within the vegetable and potato growing industry, said Mr Brent.

We had a record number of award nominations this year and a series of very worthy winners, he continued.

Winners of eight award categories open for public nomination included:

  • Grower of the YearJim Trandos, Wanneroo, WA
    sponsored by Syngenta

  • Researcher of the YearLen Tesoriero, Camden, NSW
    sponsored by Bayer CropScience

  • Young Grower of the YearDaniel Maher, Ballarat, VIC
    sponsored by Dow AgroSciences

  • Productivity Partner AwardSyngenta
    sponsored by Elders

  • Industry Recognition AwardJim Turley, West Perth, WA
    sponsored by DuPont

  • Women in Horticulture AwardNarelle West, Kalbar, QLD
    sponsored by McCain Foods Australia

  • Innovative Marketing AwardAndrew Phillips, Childers, QLD
    sponsored by Brisbane Produce Market

  • Industry Impact Award Gazzola Farms, Somerville, VIC
    sponsored by Boomaroo Nurseries

Three other special award categories not open for public nomination included :

The Premier’s Award was won by David Anderson of Shoalwater, WA.

Luis Gazzola of Gazzola Farms in Somerville, VIC, won the AUSVEG Lifetime Achievement Award,

Andrew Meurant of Elders won the AUSVEG Industry Leader Award

Congratulations to all Winners and Finalists

Andrew Meurant (2nd right), with ELDERS teamElders Team with Mayor Ron Clarke and Award Winner Andrew Meurant (2nd right)

The Gala Awards ceremony was hosted by AFL legend Robert ‘Dipper’ DiPierdomenico and host of the ABC’s Stateline program Jessica van Vonderen.

BOOMAROO nurseries display at 2010 AUSVEG conventionBoomaroo Nurseries sponsored this sand model of a Veggie truck at Jupiters Casino

AusVeg Conference

Source: Hugh Tobin, AUSVEG – 29 May 2010

^ Back to top